To book telephone 01226 791245 or email info@beatsonhouse.co.uk

"Fantastic"

Rating 5.5

Limaox - 2nd September 2012

Had sunday lunch here and it was faultless.

There were 9 of us arriving at different times and ordering different things and everything was perfect .Starters,Lunch,Dessert,Coffee PERFECT.Service PERFECT,Surroundings PERFECT,everything was PERFECT.It was one of our partys birthday and we supplied a cake and they even bought it out at perfect timing.

Thanks Beatson House for such a good meal to celebrate my brothers birthday.

"Fantastic Dinner"

Rating 5/5

Alison and Sean Mountain  20th August 2012

Came here following a friend's recommendation and I couldn't understand how we haven't even considered this place as we only live a couple of miles away.


The surroundings are fab, service is bob on without being intrusive and the food was fabulous. I had crab and then sea bass with beautifully cooked veg. Hubby had melon then the fillet steak which he loved. We had a glass of bubbly each and a very good bottle of Aussie Chardonnay.

Really good meal for hubby's birthday and we shall definitely be coming back.

“Stunning!!!”

Rating 5/5

Adam_n_Kate 6 July 2011

After researching for a good local restaurant to take my fiancee for her birthday i stumbled across Beatson House. The reviews suggested excellent food and service to match..... and it certainly delivered!
We received a lovely warm welcome on arrival, which continued throughout our evening. The staff are excellent and with it being a relatively small venue, it allows them to be very attentive. The converted house is quaint and beautifully decorated, whilst the food is outstanding! The menu is classic british cuisine, with the 'Barnsley chop' speciality dish particularly stunning. The prices range from £15-20 for a main meal, but the quality of ingredients justifies the cost.
Definitely worth a vist, regardless of distance! A perfect and thoroughly enjoyable evening, we will be back soon!

“A truly fabulous experience”

Rating 5/5

TravelWriter01 21 June 2011

We visited Beatson House for the first time on Fathers Day and it made for a really special occasion. I had heard great reports but you never really know for sure until you try for yourself, well it certainly did not disappoint. The menu option for Sunday was 3 courses for £22.95 and the selection was fantastic catering for all tastes and beautifully presented. Some in our party required gluten free and I have to say that Beatson House offer possible the best selection of choices in Yorkshire for a Gluten Free diet and even some things that weren't on the menu when requested were available such as GF Gravy, Bread and Yorkshire puddings and all very tasty!. Anita and the team delivered a superb standard of service, nothing was too much trouble and they were attentive without being intrusive. The ambience and decor of this lovely restaurant balances modern decor with a homely feel perfectly. I highly recommend a visit and can't wait to return again.

“Dare I say: Barnsleys best kept secret!"

Rating 5/5

Shaun_d_w 12 June 2011

I love this place. We've been a few times now and each time have a wonderful experience. I've taken my better half, the parents, the in-laws - we've had a work Christmas party here twice, and if you have a client you want to impress, this is the place to do it.

I'm not adventurous with food, I like simple English grub and I generally have the soup for starters but don't dismiss this as an option because you can't buy this stuff in a tin but they should certainly start bottling it because I'd buy some to take home! The mains was equally impressive (I had the lamb) and each course is beautifully presented. Normally on a trip to Beatson House I'll finish off by sharing the fondue with my partner (if you haven't tried this, you must) but on this occasion I wanted a sticky toffee pudding, it hit the spot perfectly.

Something they do bottle: Boozy Infusions. You must take a bottle of this home. They have somehow managed to bottle their sticky toffee pudding dessert with vodka and my word it is just like the pudding but with a kick - it tastes unbelievable. More recently they've done the same with Black Forest Gateau but my new favourite has to be the Jamaican Ginger Cake!

Great food; great service; lovely, relaxed, intimate atmosphere - 10/10.

“Food and service above the norm”

Rating 5/5

MikeTheR 10 May 2011

We had heard good things about Beatson House and decided to give it a try this Sunday. When we arrived, we were pleased by the outside presentation of the building, it's outside decked area and ease of parking. The first fly in the ointment was the weather, though. The rain had been falling in heavy showers throughout the day and, as we arrived, was falling heavily. It was at this point that Beatson House first set itself head and shoulders above other restaurants in our experience. One of the staff came out to our car with a large umbrella and escorted us to the building to save us from getting wet! It was entirely unexpected, very pleasing and set the tone for the evening.
The food was excellent throughout. Nothing pretentious but everything cooked and presented very well and tasting superb. The serving team were attentive without being intrusive and the whole restaurant had a uniquely intimate feel due in the most part to the arrangement of the tables in rooms.
My only disappointment with the restaurant was that I hadn't discovered it sooner.

"brilliant”
 
Rating 4.5/5

sb215 14 Apr 2011 
 

the ladies in my family took me and my cousin here as a treat for our birthdays. Do make sure you book in advance! We had the little private room up on the first floor. There were twelve me us, therefore this was very well suited. Also makes you feel quite special! Lovely decor. Exquisite food, no complaints. The only downside was a tiny silver bug crawling around a mint leaf inside my mojhito, however the staff took this very well and replaced the drink, explaining the mint leaves were fresh from the garden that very day. Impressive! Wonderful waiting area where we were provided with post dinner drinks. Would definitely go again, such a hidden delight x
 

"an unexpected delight”

Rating 5/5

greenacres86 23 Mar 2011


An excellent meal, super friendly service and a most enjoyable evening - many thanks for the email invitation, I look forward to future ones!!

Many thanks

Andrew & Sue Guy

"Fabulous"

Rating 5/5

Huckers018 7th September 2010

Took wife & daughter for a special occassion. First time to Beatson House, hopefully not the last. I do not give five stars lightly.

"Lovely place for a special dinner, but book in advance"

Rating 5/5

Jules154 10th July 2010

I am only writing a very quick review, which probably won't do this place justice, but it was my first visit for our wedding anniversary and would definitely go back again. It is slightly on the pricey side, but as a special treat it well worth it. On a summers evening it is nice to start with drinks on the deck and then be seated for dinner. Food was well prepared, hot, delicious and all 3 courses were timed perfectly. Would definitely recommend.

"Beautiful, intimate restaurant. Never been diappointed. Food was fab, staff attentive, decor lovely. Cant wait to return."

Rating 5/5

Lk5001 7th May 2010

“A wonderful experience from start to end”

Tigmol 24 July 2008

After a wonderful meal a few weeks ago, I thought perhaps it had been a one off - how wrong I was! As previously, the staff were pleasant, nothing being too much trouble, and the food was amazing - and such good value! For a set menu there is a good deal of choice for your main course, and a bit too much choice with the desserts - just joking, but with lemon tart, chocolate pot and turkish delight ice cream on the menu it was a difficult decision.
The only criticism is the sitting area, where you can enjoy a drink whilst perusing the menu. A wonderful idea but can get rather crowded and would benefit from being slightly larger.
However, we are already planning to return and look forward to another splendid evening.